Get Real!

JPS Inspiration

John Patrick Shanely, (c) 1988 Susan Shacter

I feel totally inspired this morning.  Just re-read an article published in American Theatre Magazine (2004) about the evolution of playwright John Patrick Shanely.  Finally, today I feel like I’ve come home.  It’s been so long since I’ve been moved by anything as powerfully as his words.  So honest, gritty, poetic.  So street.  He speaks my language frankly and that is something I really miss.  The 2012 Hollywood Fringe Festival is about to begin here in LA and reading JPS’s interview set my heart on fire.  I feel like a renewed Spirit ready to experience, to change, to shift and like JPS says about his own characters and their journeys, have catharsis.

Leave a Reply

