Get Real!

Thoughts and Thoughts About Curating My Life

Ever feel like you are doing the same thing over and over and over again?  I seem to be having an enormous case of Deja Vu.

Since the end of September I’ve spent at least 15 minutes and up to 4 hours a day purging old papers, ideas, books, clothes and other mementos from my closets and shelves.

It is amazing to see what a collector I’ve been; for years building up entire libraries dedicated to taxes alone.

I am so happy for the internet age where I can now house a virtual warehouse dedicated to my entire life – online.

Everyday feels like opening up another door; making more room for the future to enter the present, without necessarily leaving the past behind.  I guess you could say (and I am sure I’ve said this many times already), I am curating my own history.  I’ve been creating a museum of photographs, awards, achievements, education, activities, experiences, shows and more.  A progressive understanding of who I’ve been.

I’ve actually done, been, experienced, participated in a lot!  I’m glad to know it.  But more glad to let it go without being destructive.

It’s a relief.

One response

  1. Scott

    i write from memory. my things have mostly been left behind.

    November 3, 2012 at 5:39 am

Leave a Reply

