Get Real!

Live Your Life

I asked my colleague today, “If you were going to do anything else than this (his grueling 9-6 job) every day, or make more money, what would you do?  I mean, is there something that you really wanted when you went to college that you’ve never done and would like to fulfill? ”

~”Nothing, it doesn’t matter.  I just want to live my life.  That’s the most important thing.”

I was stunned enough by that answer to write about it.

I mean, I feel so conditioned, and I am confronted every day by the conditioning of every other person I meet desperate to jump onto fast track to fame, by the media, corporate America, the entertainment industry, education and probably anywhere else my 10 fingers, two feet and four wheels might take me on any given hour of the day, that it is an incredible relief to hear something as normal and undramatic as, “my happiness is a priority.”

Honestly, I feel relaxed.

2 responses

  1. Sounds like you have a good friend in that colleague :>) and I totally agree with the sentiment. That’s not to say that the other things you mentioned are important–they are. The thing is, though, that they are not the goal; just instruments or indicators.

    December 14, 2012 at 12:29 am

Leave a Reply

